Being a college student in the capital of Europe : Brussels.

Hello world!

Being a college student isn’t as fancy as you imagine, mainly if you have this idea that it’s going to be like in the movies. Well sorry for the raincheck but my dears, if you leave in Europe it’s nothing like that. If you think you’re going to live in a dorm with loads of people around you in campus. Think again. You basically have 2 choices, either you have a dorm but it can be between 30mins away by metro or tram, or you’re close, you’re either living alone or with 4-5 people. The other choice? Welcome to my world, it’s commuting. It’s not that it bothers me to commute to uni everyday, my train ride is normally around 30mins to 40 when the train is late. So it means that sometimes I’m closer and less far away from uni than the ones who you live in a dorm. Trust me, it’s pretty disappointing when you have this idea already instilled in your mind that uni is going to be like the movies. Then again I have no idea how it is in the US (don’t worry I don’t imagine it being like American Pie 5 : Beta House), but that’s how it is… at leats in Brussels.

Brussels, the capital of Belgium, the capital of Europe. Not really big if you ask, quite a small city but then again Belgium is a small country. Brussels is one of the most multicultural cities in the world. Living in Brussels means that you’ll have it easier talking in English than in French because you never know who is gonna talk back to you and in which language. In a sense I love it, you can meet so many different people from different culture every single day. In another I just hate it. I feel like it’s too close minded. But I think it’s just the country that is like this.

In any case, here’s the thing : I need to commute every single day. I don’t live far away from the city maybe a 25mins car ride. I live in a small town but that everyone knows about actually. By train it’s 35-40mins to maybe an 1hour because obviously trains are ALWAYS late. But other than that it’s actually easier for me to go to uni in Brussels than anywhere else. University as a whole is an experience that I feel everyone should live but to a certain extent. In Brussels, I was given the opportunity to meet different people and to build an opinion with these new perspectives I get to see every day.

Brussels has always something going on. As of 2019, every Thursday we have the march for the Climate happening, we have European meeting happenings a lot #CapitalOfEurope, we have the university life going on also. I feel like you can never get bored in Brussels. You can always find new places to hang out and to study.

Till next time,

Evi

Leave a comment